Residential properties - Gravesend Road
This page lists the residential properties on the section of Gravesend Road along the boundary with Stansted from the Telephone Exchange to the Margaret McMillan Centre. Some of the properties are in the Parishes of Meopham, Vigo, and Trottiscliffe and have been included for completeness.
Please get in touch with the Society should you have further information on any of the properties listed or suggest any changes or additions.
The Grange (Tower Folly)
Previously named Tower Grange and then Tower Folly, the property was originally part of Millers Farm and was used for drying hops. It is one of the first oast houses to be converted to a home in 1903 and is thought to be unique with thirteen windows in the kiln roof. This property is in the Parish of Meopham.
Built in the mid-1930s, the building is named after Margaret McMillan who dedicated her life to the developmental needs and educational progress of kindergarten and primary-age children; she had a profound effect on England’s education system including the establishment of Margaret McMillan House. The property is in the Parish of Wrotham.